Skilled Regional Provisional (sc489)

To apply for any of these visa pathways, you can be either in or outside Australia.  The subclass 489 can be applied through three different pathways:

Extended Stay Pathway: Is for the applicants who are in Australia and hold either one of this visa subtypes:

  • Skilled- Regional Sponsored Visa (subclass 475)
  • Skilled – Regional Sponsored Visa (subclass 487)
  • Skilled – Independent Regional Visa (subclass 495)
  • Skilled – Designated Area Sponsored Provisional Visa (subclass 496)

Invited Pathway: For the invited pathway, you either need to be

  • Sponsored by an eligible relative who lives in a designated area of Australia
  • Nominated by an Australian State or Territory government agency

To apply for this pathway, you need to have the Skill Assessment by the relevant assessing authority. After assessing the Skills, you can check your points to see if you have enough points to apply for the EOI.

There is no cost involved to apply for the EOI, and the EOI is valid for two years. Once you have applied for an EOI, you need to change, if any details are changed after you have applied. Once you get the invitation, you cannot change the circumstances. After receiving the invitation, you have 60 days to apply for the visa subclass.

By submitting an EOI, you will not get a Bridging visa, as it is not a visa application.

To submit this pathway through the state nomination, make sure to check the list of occupations for that relevant state. Each state has their list of occupations and set of English requirements (only for specific occupation). If you are nominated by the state or territory, then you must live and work in that state or territory for a specified period of minimum time and meet any other requirements of the state or the territory.

For general requirement for this visa, the subclass is to have a Competent English, Health Check requirements and be under 45 years of age.

After four years of the 489-visa subclass, you cannot extend this visa subclass, but you might be eligible for the Skilled Regional Visa subclass 887.

Note- Regarding the age constraint of 45 years of age

If you turn 45 years of age after you have submitted and EOI, you will not get the invitation

If you become 45 years of age, after you have received the Invitation, you can still apply for this visa

After the invitation, when you apply for the visa, there are a Department Application fee.

The processing time for the State/ territory nomination is around 10-15 months.

Subsequent Entry Pathway: The subsequent entry pathway is for applicants who are a member of a family unit of the applicants who hold a 489,475,487,495 or 496 visa subclass.