Scott Morrison the next Prime Minister of Australia

Scott Morrison will be the seventh Prime Minister of Australia in the last 11 years.

After Mr Dutton demanded the second ballot after losing to Mr Turnbull by seven votes on last Tuesday, there was a re-election today Morning resulting a new Prime Minister for Australia.

Former Home Affairs Minister Peter Dutton, Treasurer Scott Morrison and Foreign Affairs Minister Julie Bishop all emerged as leadership rivals.

Julie Bishop was eliminated from the leadership race first.

The Liberal party has voted down Mr Turnbull making the next Prime Minister of Australia as Scott Morrison.

More news on SBS News